Call Us At (767) 448-8177
Open Hours Mon - Fri 8.00 am - 6.00 pm

The 11th   Biennial Conference of the Dominica Association of Teachers was held on Wednesday,  April 11, 2012 at the Garraway Hotel in Roseau.  The Conference which was held under the theme: “Teachers – Confronting the Scourge of Non Communicable Diseases” was described by many as a tremendous success.


Keynote speaker for the Conference, Public Health Nutritionist – Paula Trotter urged teachers to set the example by living healthy life styles as the seek to  fight the scourge of Chronic Non-Communicable Diseases (CNCD’s).  Ms. Trotter also called on Policy Makers to ensure that the school environment is conducive to healthy living. She called for a paradigm shift as regards the curriculum for Food and Nutrition and Health and Family Life Education.


Also addressing the function was the Minister for Education and Human Resource Development – Hon. Petter St. Jean.  The Hon. Minister Commended the DAT for what he referred to as the professional manner it conducts its business.  He pledged his government’s support for DAT in improving working conditions of teachers.


DAT also recognized ten retired teachers and Principals with a combined 415 years of service.   These individuals who distinguished themselves and gave a life long of dedicated service to the children and young people of the Commonwealth of Dominica were: Lucille Blackman, James Greer, Theresa Hector, Josephine Jemmott, Angelina Martin, Cynthia Morvan, Clara Savarin Marcella Severin and Claudette Shillingford.


Another highlight of the Conference was the election of a new executive which will manage the affairs of the Union for the next two years.  The Executive Committee remained virtually unchanged except for the posts of First Vice President, Second Vice President and one Trustee.


The full Executive is as follows:

Name Office Comment
Celia Nicholas President Reelected Unopposed
Francis Jno. Lewis First Vice President Elected
Julian Llyod Benjamin Second Vice President Elected
Isabella Prentice General Secretary Reelected Unopposed
Vania Martin Assistant General Secretary Reelected Unopposed
Jerry Coipel Treasurer Reelected Unopposed
Royette Riley Assistant Treasurer Reelected Unopposed
Juanita Carbon Public Relations Officer Reelected
Rosamond Rolle Trustee Reelected
Marcus Blondell Trustee Newly Elected

Executive Members


Previous Celia is CUT’s Second Vice President

Useful Links

Dominica Association of Teachers © 2021. All Rights Reserved